Skip to content
September 30, 2013 / Dale Melchin

Program Reboot: Overtime Optimization

Combat Date: 9/9/2013

I realize this is coming to you a little late.  As of this writing I’m currently in the process of rebooting my schedule so I can optimize it for working overtime and making sure my personal development gets done in the morning.

Personal development is extremely important so important that you cannot sacrifice it even if you are doing a lot during the work day.

Before I did this I was doing 12 hours of work in a given day.  I would start at 8am, have three 15 minute breaks throughout the day and then an hour for lunch and then end the work day around 9 pm.  This was and is exhausting.

As a result of being so exhausted, I would come home interact with my wife and then do the same thing again the next day.  But then, I wouldn’t get up on time.  I’d get up at 7 am and then have to be to work by 8 am.

When I had to do that, I was way off.  I didn’t make time to exercise, meditate, or read, or journal.  As a result, the day was a CHORE.

So I rebooted and optimized my schedule.

Now I’m getting up at 5 am.  I get up and take 15 minutes to get my bearings, meditate for 15 minutes, go walk for an hour, make breakfast and prep my lunch, have coffee, read through my blog feed, and then after I finish this I’m going to work on my private journal, jump in the shower and head off the work.

I know as a result of the reboot, I’m going to be energized, working from a center of strength and confidence.  I’m also scheduling a regular 8 hour shift on my day off of extra OT so that way I have time to work on my website.

If you are in a position where you have overtime, and you are looking to take advantage of it, I would encourage you to not scrap your morning ritual, instead reboot it.  Don’t get too crazy with the overtime, but make sure you can do it in a way that is sustainable, you’ll get better results that way.

 

Question:  What would optimizing your overtime schedule and your morning ritual make possible for you?

Leave a Reply

