Skip to content
July 5, 2013 / Dale Melchin

As Promised my Goals for Maximum Personal Achievement

Totalgoals

As promised, I’m listing my goals.   As I was setting this up I was beleagured with multiple “technical” problems.  Mainly that my computer is running very sloooooooooooooooooow.  The other part was I couldn’t find fast way to drop this into my blog without print screen, dropping it into paint splitting it and then putting it together.  This will also be an object of continuous improvement.

Nevertheless, here are the goals.

Notice, the positive ones are listed at the top and then the negative ones are listed at the bottom.  They are also sorted by weight.  Right now, the goal sheet is very top heavy.  The physical, spiritual and the career/financial goals are all weighted very highly.  That will change overtime to spiritual being at the top, physical being second, and then career and financial being 3rd and 4th.  They’ll be weighted at 10, 9, 8, 7 and so on respectively.  I’ll do this as they become ingrained habits.  Right now I feel the need to focus conscious intention on all of them.

You’ll notice also that the negative goals (things I’m trying to avoid are all weighted as tens.  This is done by design.  The first is that if engage in these negative behaviors it messes up the overall attainment.  I was going to use a more colorful word, but this is a family friendly blog.  Here is an example of why I’m choosing to do it this way.

Take for instance my physical goals.  My goal is to get down to 185 pounds with a ripped body by next year at this time.  Now even if I am consistent in working out but I still drink heavily, its going to undercut my physical results.  I’ll benefit from the workout, but the benefit will be counteracted by the damage I am doing by drinking.  Its like running a sports car at top end but I’m riding the brake.  I don’t go very fast.  So the key is instead of trying to go faster is to let off the brake.  This often is the key to personal achievement.  Take your foot off the brakes.

Another thing you will notice is that this is a habit tracker.  Conscious behaviors while they are good, don’t last because they don’t have foundation in the mind and in the body.  According to the Power of Habit, the key to personal achievement is to create new habits that drown out the bad ones and lessen their power.  This is what I’m trying to accomplish with this goal tracker.

So I can give credit where credit is due.  The goal tracker I am using is Joe’s Goals.  You can get information about this at joesgoals.com

My daily entries here will likely consist of the focus of the day or an overall accounting of how I am doing during the day.  It won’t be as unfiltered in my personal journal, but it will be transparent and yet fit for the public.

As I stated previously, my purpose in re-branding things is to encourage others to get on the path with me, and to find fellow warriors and adventurers.

 

Will you join me?

Leave a Reply

