Skip to content
May 31, 2013 / Dale Melchin

The Refreshing Power of Naps

Last year after listening to Michael Hyatt’s “The Secret Power of Naps” I started taking an afternoon nap.  At that time I had just received a promotion to Manager Relief (which is basically an assistant manager) at my call center job.  I would eat my lunch with friends, go out to my car, open the window, recline and nap.  It was great.  I gained numerous benefits from it as well.  I found that I was refreshed for the next four hours of my shift, I was more focused and I was less cranky.  I had stopped this practice when winter came because my car had an engine block fire and the it was frowned upon to sleep in the building even if the conference room as unused.  So I got out of practice.
However, this spring and a new to me vehicle has afforded me the opportunity to nap.  Now I’m back into the practice.  I go out to my truck, with my blindfold, roll down both windows, kick on a podcast of my choice, set the alarm and snooze!  I found my productivity increased in the afternoon and I was in a much better mood for the remains of the day.  Its been glorious!
According to Michael Hyatt there are 5 Reasons to take naps
  1. A nap restores alertness.
  2. A nap prevents burnout.
  3. A nap heightens sensory perception.
  4. A nap reduces the risk of heart disease.
  5. A nap makes you more productive.
So as a result I make the same recommendation to you.  Try it and see what happens!  I’m confident you will enjoy the benefits that experience on the back 4 of your day!
 
Do you nap?  Why or Why not?
Leave a Reply

