Skip to content
May 7, 2013 / Dale Melchin

The BMW, Mercedes, or Lamborughini (High Performance) life

You’ve seen these blessed cars and so have I. They are beautiful cars. I have it as a dream that I will drive a BMW before I die, even if it is an old model. Some of those old cars are the best cars! Regardless, it is possible to get here, but its tough.

As I said, most of us don’t get this far. This mainly has to do with our inability to get through what Seth Godin calls “The  Dip.” To summarize the concept it is that area we go through in a field of endeavor that is excruciating and will weed out  the uncommitted.

Here are two examples. The person who would become a doctor. They may relish their learning, but as time progresses the subjects get harder the further up you go in classes. Many people can’t stand it. This is why you have a lot of
biochemists and not a lot of doctors.

If it was easy everyone would be one. That’s why there are so few doctors, and why they make so much damn money. My thought toward these people is congratulations! Let me paint your house! I’d rather be friends with these fine folks than blame them for my problems.

The other example is a personal one. And I hate to do this because I’m making myself vulnerable. I was studying to be a pastor and I didn’t make it through the dip. It doesn’t make me a bad person. I didn’t have the internal resources at
the time to get through the dip. There are other folks who did make it through the dip, but then when they got into being a professional pastor, they went through other dips that got them. Let just say that for those of you who believe in the Christian faith, Satan likes to shoot at officers.

For those of you who care to know, the lowest part of the dip was dealing with people whom I could not influence.  And it was because I lacked my own spiritual equity to be able to do it.  But I digress.

Anyway, People who represent high performance cars who look over their lives and realize they have great  opportunities. And that the only way they are going to get any better is if they address those issues. Even if it is holes in the floorboards or just a little rust, or as bad as an engine block that threw a rod through the other piston chambers, they own it and apply the available resources to fix it and they get a different outcome. Just like with a car
they resolve the issues and move toward there goals.

Those folks who get into this position command life itself. They get everything they need or want, they know how to get it and they make no excuses for themselves. They think rationally, are highly creative, are disciplined and proactive.  And then they defend their position.

They deal with challenges constructively and as a result are highly successful.

What would adopting the attitude of a high performance car or person make possible for you?

Leave a Reply

