Skip to content
March 11, 2013 / Dale Melchin

The Warrior Mind

I have several friends who were/are in the Armed Forces.  One in particular the I actually got the privilege of working with, Sgt Dan.  The way he worked was inspiring.  This happened while I was still a painting contractor.

He obeyed without question, with the exception of clarification.  I don’t remember any specifics of these occurrences.  I just remember it was a general attitude that he had throughout our time together.  It was just his way of doing things.

He understood the objective and worked to achieve it.  I never heard him complain in any seriousness.  He knew his part in the mission (s) and when after it.

He took responsibility for results.  He had quality work, but if I ever had to give him feedback, he took it well.  Although I RARELY had to give feedback.

As a result of his attitude, and approach to life, I could trust him implicitly.  There is only one other person I worked with in business that I can say that about and that was my operations manager.  Looking back, if I resurrected my painting business and the three of us teamed up, we’d be unstoppable!  Hindsight is 20/20

The point of my accolades of Dan are as follows.  If we are to be successful in our endeavors, we don’t have to join the Army,  but we must embrace the warrior mind.  That is marked by three things.

Putting the mission first.  Whether this is our personal mission, or one that is imposed on us or we are choosing to participate in.  Putting the mission ahead of everything including our own feelings and resistance is going to be the thing that separates the men from the boys.  Regardless of the area of your life where the mission is located, putting that ahead of base feelings and distractions you will yield fantastic results.

Working with a team.  This is a double edged sword.  I personally hated working in teams when I was at college.  I made it a point to take over the team as fast as possible.  Having done this, most of our projects turned out very well.  I’ve only been defeated in taking over the team once and it was during a time when I was working 80 hours a week in my business.  Regardless, we still have to work in teams.  The best thing to do in a team situation is to be honest, authentic, lead by example and put the mission first, and call out those who aren’t putting the mission first, even if you aren’t the leader.  Do your best work, regardless of others.

Ultimately the best thing to do is take responsibility for the outcome, and work to achieve, regardless of how we may feel going through it.  Its like exercise, you’ll feel better after word.

Leave a Reply

