Skip to content
March 4, 2013 / Dale Melchin

The Strength Found in Sickness

No, I do not have a major illness.  I probably have a bad cold or some kind of bug.  But it has been enough to knock me off of my feet for the most part.  I haven’t been to the gym at all this last week until today where I went up to walk on a treadmill.

I started to catch a little something on Wednesday, but I didn’t pay it any mind.  Thursday morning though, I felt like hell.  Sleep deprived  achy, cranky stuffy, the whole 9 yards.

The worst part of it was I had .75 of a point roll of for attendance issues last year.  I had just found out I re-qualified to go back to a previous higher paying position I was working in.  As a result, I found the strengthening within myself to stand up to my sickness and say NO!

Even if I pass out taking calls, there is no way in hell I’m going home over this.  This will pass in a few days.  Having my old job back, though would be a long term deal and I’m not letting sickness get in the way.

I fought my way through Thursday.  Made it, went home.  Rested all day Friday.  (Broken up days off) and then slogged through Saturday.  Went home and slept all Saturday into late Sunday Morning I’m resting as of this writing which is Sunday.  I’m feeling better, but I’m feeling another nap coming on.

The Lesson that I am trying to embody here is 3 Fold:

  1. There is always something greater at stake than physical comfort.

Had I chosen to be foolish, I could’ve called off work and disqualified myself from my potential promotion.  I valued my goal of getting my old job back over and above what I thought was physical comfort.  Those of us who are part of the “99%” fail to realize that and as a result, we fail to achieve our goals.  This is true for the champion fighter, or the person who is staring down death from a terminal disease.  In those cases, being courageous, is the highest value.

  1. There is always something greater than our emotional comfort.

Fear at best is an annoyance, at worst it is a crippling monster.  According to Dr. Covey, the ability to subordinate an emotion to a value is to display the greatest proactivity.  Also according to Dr. Alex Lickerman in the Art Of Manliness Podcast number 40 the best way to conquer fear, is to simply commit to the task that you have to do and do it and allow yourself to feel the fear, and learn to control it.  Now granted you can use the processes of visualization and meditation to take the edge off, but often times, its best to get after the goal.  You will get stronger as you go forward.

  1. There is something greater to go after than the levels that we have achieved.

This is the catch all category.  You have a goal, I have a goal.  But when we think of our vision, we also start to think of all of our obstacles.  We will sometimes allow ourselves to give up.  The key to this is to simply falsify the excuses, and do all that you can, each day to get to the goal that you are achieving.  The best way to do this is to be proactive, and look for ways to manage and overcome those obstacles.  When we learn to have that kind of strength.  there is nothing that can stop us.

That is how I feel after being sick this week.  Now I am going to lay back down. 😀

Leave a Reply

