Skip to content
February 23, 2013 / Dale Melchin

Living in the Woods: Live Off the Land

In my previous post about self-sufficiency, I talked about being emotional, psychological and economic independence.  For us to be successful, avoid failure or turn that failure into a victory, those kinds of independence are what we need to have in our retinue.

But what about being free from the economy?  What would you do in the event of a disaster and you were forced to live off of the land.  I realize that many of our city dwellers would be screwed.

Now, I’m not one of those folks who is a doomer and gloomer.  I don’t believe our country is on the brink of collapse or that any such disaster will strike us anytime soon.  In fact, I believe the opposite, I think we can bounce back from this.  But I digress, this is not a blog about politics, it is about personal achievement and this post is about one aspect of it.

Living off the land.

I would make 3 recommendations to help you prepare to live off the land.

1. Buy a Gun.  I don’t have a recommendation particularly, buy a rifle that can be used for hunting and self-defense.  You will need the rifle to be able to shoot game animals and bring it back to the proverbial cave for your family to eat.  Also buy enough ammo that will last you over a long period of time

2. Buy a fieldguide that lists out beneficial and poisonous fauna.  The more exhaustive the better, and make sure it has plenty of pictures so you can make a comparison.

3. Buy a fieldguide that lists out how to things like how to build a shelter a fire and so on.  Even one that teaches you how to build a bow and arrow would be good in case things get real sporty.

Beyond that, I don’t have much else to offer.  I would recommend you research this out for yourself.  Also if you are the outdoorsman/survivalist type, please feel free to make your comments below.

 

 

Leave a Reply

