Skip to content
January 20, 2013 / Dale Melchin

The Power of Systems

Systems, habits, methods of success, processes, call them what you will, these things that I call systems are the most powerful intangible things you can utilize to facilitate success in your life and stave of failure until another day.  Let me explain what I mean.

What do you do in the two or more hours before you go to work?  I know what I do.  I get up, take a cold shower, take vitamin regimen, eat a small meal, meditate, and go to the gym before I hit the daily grind.  In the moments between some of those processes I read inspiring content and share inspiring content via the Buffer App.  The point is I use the time before I go to work to rebuild the proverbial fortifications between myself and the onslaught I know I will face before the work day starts.

I know, I make it sound like I’m fighting a war.  In a very real sense we all are.  Regardless of what tradition you hail from we have hostile spiritual entities that are after us.  We have our own tendencies toward the “easy way” fighting our authentic self that harass us constantly.  Not to mention the various moods we experience through the day as a result of our interactions with others or because of our circadian rhythms.  The point is…keep fighting!  Regardless of what you believe or worship, the call is to keep fighting.  The best way to do this is to commit ourselves to process.

Commitment to process transcends all things.  Regardless of the initial outcome.  Budgeting is a good “for instance” of this.  You commit to spending X across several areas.  But you end up spending Y more in an area that you particularly enjoy spending, and it creates problems in the next month.  Well, instead of beating yourself up, a rigorous commitment to process offers you the opportunity evaluate what happened, and what you can do about it next month.

An area that is near and dear to me is meditation and spirituality.  I constantly struggle with staying still for more than 20 minutes.  I get all the work that I intend to done (cultivating courage, dispelling fear, etc) but I have a hard time sitting still for more than 20 minutes. Does that mean I need to stop sitting? No.  It means that I need to find out why I have such a proclivity toward wanting to get up after 20 minutes, uproot it and sit for longer as time permits.

The same goes with you and your desires for whatever it is you want to accomplish in your life.  It isn’t that your dream is invalid because you’ve failed to achieve it.  It means you need to find out what the barriers are and over come them.  But never ever give up.  That is what the enemy wants, and you need to be steadfast in not giving that to him.

Make your commitment to you dream stronger than your desire to give up.  Then regardless of how often you fall.  In the end, you will win.

Leave a Reply

