Skip to content
December 27, 2012 / Dale Melchin

Physical Development IV

This being the third most important area of your life, I realize I have been almost as noisy about this topic as I have been about spirituality.  If you analyze the human mind/body construct you will realize that at that level humanity has a body and a spirit.  A more sophisticated analysis reveals that were are more than just a duality,but I digress.

In this post I will focus on practical takeaways on physical development.  I will focus on methods of exercise and nutrition.

A good exercise program is based upon three factors, stretching, cardiovascular activity, and weight training.  Please understand, I’m not a fitness expert.  I am only reiterating truths that have been iterated to me in one form or another.  It also based upon nutrition.  You cannot fuel the proverbial machine that is your body with basic unleaded.  You have to use high octane fuels in order to get the job of fitness done.

Cardiovascular Activity
Walk, run, elliptical, treadmill, bike, I don’t care, it has to be done.  Your body cannot sustain stress or even anaerobic exercise like weight lifting without it.  This is the core.  You can also find aerobic exercise in some martial arts workouts like the one I get at Morrow’s Academy.  Regardless, you must have it.  I hate running so I myself use the elliptical.  I can run 3 miles give or take in 30 minutes on it and I am good to go when I am done.  The elliptical is easier on the knees as well.

Weighttraining
This one is a no-brainer.  Lift the weights.  Ideally you should do 3 sets of 8 reps of a given exercise until you are out of breath.  You can use machines, free weights, or a John Smith machine for bench and squats.  Regardless the weights must be lifted.  You must use a weight that is optimal for you to use correct form and not be overwhelmed, but at the same time be challenged by it.

Nutrition
Nutrition is so vital to a successful workout.  Before you workout you should carb load a little bit.  I take a white tortilla and either peanut butter or regular butter and consume that before the work out.  It gives me the energy I need to sustain the 20-30 minutes on the elliptical and it works wonders.  When I don’t eat that before a workout I fail on the elliptical and go right to weight training.

After the workout you want to have a high protein high carb recover meal in some incarnation.  It can be in a shake or you can have a boiled egg and another tortilla.  The point is to use those carbs to trigger the insulin to push the protein into the broken down muscles so they can start rebuilding immediately.  Ensuing meals should consist of protein, greens, and slow burning carbs.  I realize we all have various nutrition needs so consult with an expert before you go on any nutrition/exercise regime.  I am only describing what works for me.  Your mileage may vary.

To tie everything together you need a cardio routine, a weight lifting routine, and plenty of good nutrition habits.  If you make these things habits where they become unconscious and you avoid bad eating in day to day life, you will get results.

What would getting good fitness results make possible for you?

Leave a Reply

