Skip to content
December 21, 2012 / Dale Melchin

Physical Development Introduction

Physical development is going to be the 3rd most important area of your life if you want to stay successful and active.  You can develop a great spirituality.  You can develop your skills.  But, if your body is out of shape and unhealthy, both of areas deluded in their overall effect.  Without your body, you cannot affect change in the physical world.  In the best case if you don’t exercise, you’ll lack the energy and motivation to soldier on, in the worst case, you’ll be dead.

I was going to say that I’m not trying to scare you, but that would be a lie.  I am trying to scare you straight and here is a personal story as to why.

The 3rd memorial of my father Thomas Melchin is coming up on March 1st of this coming year.  He was 60 when he died.  And his death was a preventable and needless one.
Thomas did not take of himself.  He was a man who had an external locus of control.  He was a man who did not do all that he could do for himself.  Underneath all of his negativity though, I believe lived a good man, much like Darth Vader, only not as evil.

He did not take care of himself.  Growing up I do not recall him ever investing time to develop himself in the physical area.  To be sure, if I ran out of the house in defiance of the dinner time, he could catch me.  But he would be winded.  I do not ever recall him owning a gym membership, taking time to really walk, or engage in any kind of enjoyable exercise.  He enjoyed smoking, watching T.V. and working on cars.  I never saw him develop the intrinsic strength with which he had been blessed.  His death was completely needless.

His death could’ve been prevented had he done three things.

The first thing he could’ve done was to quit smoking and develop other habits to replace that one.  Habits are not broken, they are drowned out by the cultivation of other habits.  If he had quit earlier on, he could’ve done push ups instead of smoking, or going for a walk around the block or a bike ride to replace that routine.  But he didn’t.

The second thing he could’ve done was exercise!  If he would’ve cared about his physique and its performance he would’ve given up smoking.  Athletes aren’t smokers.  You may correct me if I am wrong but most athletes that I am aware of don’t have a smoking habit.  There are so many enjoyable activities that he could’ve engaged in to develop his body.  He could’ve gotten back into martial arts, he could’ve taken up biking more seriously or anything, but he didn’t and it killed him.

The third thing he could’ve done was eat better.  While my dad avoided sweets for the most part because of his diabetes, he ate horribly, especially after mom passed away.

So you can see why I am willing to resort to scare tactics.  My dad did not have weak constitution either.  He was a strong man but he abused that constitution instead of taking it to new heights.

There are a variety of psychological and spiritual reasons why he didn’t do what he should’ve done.  The point is he didn’t DO them, and if he had he would be alive today.

If you are 20 or younger, you still have the chance to turn it around.  Get started NOW!  Even if you are 30, 40, or heck even 50, you still have the chance.  Granted, the older you are the more focused you need to be on sustainability rather than frenzied activity, but it doesn’t matter.  You can still get control of this area of your life.  I know I’m sounding preachy here, but I beg of you my friend, if you aren’t taking care of yourself, do what it takes to start that up.  Eat right, exercise and if you are engaged in the smoking vice, stop or take steps to quit!  You are worth so much more to us alive than being a corpse in box buried underground. Your family will thank you for it and you’ll be more admired than you already are.

I know I may have said more that I make the discussion question irrelevant but I’m going to ask it anyway.

What would embarking on a rigorous physical journey make possible for you?

Leave a Reply

