Skip to content
December 19, 2012 / Dale Melchin

Spiritual Life V Action

One might say that action is the most vital element of this equation of spirituality.

I could not disagree more. I will give you one main source of disagreement. This is from my background when I was an insurance rep. The company that I worked for had a concept called an R2 A2. Recognize, Relate, Assimilate and Action. I honestly have no problem with that concept on its own. It’s a great concept and it is a part of my system.

The issue I had was with the way my boss was rigidly applying it. He sarcastically told me that I do R2A1 one time. Of course, this served to do nothing for me but anger me and discourage me in my pursuit of the insurance business.

I had for a time been acting and out in the field. However, I felt that at the time my actions were not having the desired effect. In the R2A2 Process I was stuck on the assimilate process. I had too many limiting beliefs at the time for me effectively have the confidence to sell like I needed. The problem wasn’t necessarily the product, the trainers, or the company, or even the clients. The problem was myself. I had too many unresolved internal conflicts to effectively sally forth with confidence.  Had I been able to clear those up or know how to manage those self doubts, I may have succeeded in my objectives.

Now granted, we are going to have bouts with doubt. Now that I have a higher level of self confidence I could probably make a ton of money selling those products. The issue isn’t that we are perfectly prepared for every contingency.

There are going to be times that you have to get creative in real time, whether it is selling, or personal combat, or a debate or whatever. The key is to have practiced so well that you have the confidence, the knowledge and the skill to be able to take the appropriate actions.

This applies to professional skills, this even applies more so with spirituality. The acts of spirituality are as much a skill as they are a way of being. Whether you are performing an act of charity, short circuiting habits in in real time, helping someone or righting a wrong or going to church.

You have to have rehearsed in the dojo of your mind before carrying out the action. Action is where… well the action is. But if that action does not have the proper foundation you may end up in a place that you had not intended to go.

Point being all three items must be done in tandem, one after the other in a cycle going from the mind and out into the world.

What do you think the role of action is in spirituality?

Leave a Reply

