Skip to content
November 14, 2012 / Dale Melchin

The Keys to Ongoing Success in Your Life IV: Weekly Planning

What are some of the processes that we can use to bring about success in our lives?  At this point, our series is going to begin transitioning from the more strategic side of our objective to the more tactical side.  This and the remaining articles in the series will have more of tactical flavor to it.

Michael Hyatt has an excellent e-book called Creating your Personal Life Plan.  It is akin to Seven Habits without it being so heavy.  Best of all it is free and full of great content!  I’ll have a link to it below.  Be in 90 pages he tells you everything you need to create your personal life plan.  In that book the talks about the weekly review.  This is where you do the following items:

Gather all loose papers and process.

Process my notes.

Review previous calendar data.

Review upcoming calendar

Review my action lists

Review my @WaitingFor list.

Review project lists.

Review Someday/Maybe lists.

As you can see I used this from a previous planning sheet.  I have this in my Evernote.  This is a great way for you to stay organized and on top of things.  Even if you are not Michael Hyatt, you get a great sense of control and organization from engaging in this activity.

This weekly planning process will lay the ground work for your day to day operations as you work toward your goal.  This process is a lynch pin in the success game.  It helps provide a weekly framework wherein you can complete your goals.  I cannot emphasize the importance of this enough.

For my weekly planning processes I utilize Google Calendar and I have the calendar synced with my Smartphone through its calendar application and G-Tasks which is available from Google Play.

If you are not in the habit of doing a weekly planning process, I strongly urge you to use a paper and pen planner.  Once it is a habit, make the transition to an electronic system.  I used a pen and paper process for two years before I transitioned back to an electronic one.  I would recommend pen and paper for 30 days, however, if you find that you are having problems with it due to out of sight out of mind, do it longer.  Your mileage may vary.

To recap weekly planning is a lynchpin in the success process, if you aren’t doing it, you are hurting yourself, start today and you’ll become more efficient and effective in your use of time and achieving your goals.

What would better time management and priority scheduling make possible for you?

Leave a Reply

