Skip to content
February 26, 2012 / Dale Melchin

Hello… My name is Dale…

This is my introductory post, it is Identical to My About page!  Enjoy!

My name is Dale Melchin I’m 30 years old and I live in East Moline, Illinois.  I work as a Customer Service Rep for a company that will remain nameless, because well, I don’t want it to look like I’m speaking for that company even though I am just a member of the rank and file.  In my life I have learned many lessons that I hope to pass on to you.  I don’t claim to be a guru; I am just a person who wants to exercise his strengths.

According to The Strengthsfinder My Strengths are:

Focus:  I zero in on a task and follow through.  If I don’t have the resources, I will make them.  The job will get done and done with focus on first quality and then speed.  I will plan the work and then work the plan.

Learner: The learning process is a very important part of who I am.  I enjoy learning for its own sake as well as for practical application.  If something doesn’t work I will beat a problem to death with analysis until I fix it, which leads me to my next strength.

Restorative:  I enjoy taking things and turn them around.  In the last several months I have taken myself from being a Negative Nelson, and turned into a Positive Perry.  I have also utilized this strength to systematically analyze what’s going on in our household and create systems of success.

Significance:  I must be able to see what I’m doing in the light of a greater purpose.  I want to be recognized for my achievements by God and by others, but I also want what I do to have long term impact as well.

Woo:  I enjoy meeting people, making a connection and winning them over.  If we are at a party I’m going to make my rounds to you, and we’ll probably end up allies afterwards.

According to the Dan Miller Eagle Assessment I am a Chancellor (queue Imperial March).  I’ll let you research that one yourself. 😀

I live with my wife and two cats in a luxury apartment on 7th Street in East Moline.  I may let them post to site as well.  Although, I’m not sure how the cats are gonna do it because they lack opposable thumbs.

I enjoy a wide variety of activities such as writing (duh) reading, drinking, smoking, exercise, intellectual conversation, painting, building things, working, creating systems, meeting people and of course downtime where it is just me and my thoughts.  I do my best to be welcoming to all people, but if you don’t like the Positive Energy then go stand over there with Negative Nellie and Nelson and sulk in the corner, but anytime you wanna rejoin the party just come on over and I’ll still be your friend.

I am compassionate and combative, sanguine and sarcastic, ordered, and yet chaotic with proper scheduling and approval and sent to the proper departments in triplicate.  In short I do my best to be as authentic as I can because life is too short.

The Point of this Blog:

As I said earlier, I like to pass on the lessons that life has taught me.  So with that in mind you will hear everything from the profound paradigm shifting, to a positive but scathing criticism of what I call inauthentic living.  The overall thrust of my blog will be on practical living.  I am an Orthodox Christian by conviction and do my best to honor Jesus Christ in all that I do.  However, my posts will be like that of Ralph Marston (one of my influences) it will be news that anyone can use.  That said, we will also cover many, many other issues since to quote “Geoffery Chaucer” from a Knight’s Tale “all of life is within the writer’s scope.”  This blog will range from the profound to the preposterous, and we will have fun doing this.

Seriously, though the point of this blog is to get people to love themselves, their family and friends and above all life itself.

People who influence me who exist in another plane:

Jesus and the Saints, Buddha, Lao Tzu, Bruce Lee, and other authors who no longer live on this plane of existence in one form or another.  (Take that my fundamentalist friends! 😉 )

People who influence me in this life:  Myself, my wife, my pastor Fr. Jon, Fr. Peter Pappas, Fr. Basil Pappanikolau (sp?) Mayor John Thodos, my Godparents Helen and Chris, my adopted family the Stanfords and extended members of that family,  Jonathan Clauson (for being the St. John the Baptist of my life and Christian experience.) Dallon Christensen, Michael Hyatt (read your stuff daily, hope to meet you someday!) Stephen Covey, Stephen R. Covey, Dr. Phil (hope to meet you guys too! (Their books are awesome) Ralph Marston as well as Dr. Kahn and the People of the Kahn Academy and everyone else who I failed to mention, or who taught me something about life and being a success.  Your work has not gone on without growth!  Thank you!

Books that have influenced my life:

The Bible, Seven Habits, Self Matters, Speed of Trust the Tom Hopkins Sell anything series, the Tao, the Rich Dad Books, The Tolkien Collection, as well as an infinity of other books.

Discussion Questions:  Have you thought about starting a blog or didn’t do it?  What are some of your influences?  What do you like to do in your spare time?

Leave a Reply

